The Massachusetts State Police Department was established more than 150 years ago and employs 2,300 officers. This makes it New England's largest law enforcement agency in existence. In 1992, the department was established when the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles Police, Capitol Police, Metropolitan District Commission Police and Public Safety Division of State Police were merged.
Police were formerly called "constables" in the 1800s, and the Massachusetts State Constabulary was the first such police agency in the nation in 1865.
Currently, there are four different divisions of the Massachusetts State Police Department: Field Services; Investigative Services; Standards & Training and Administrative Services.
The Division of Field Services handles vehicle crashes and traffic law enforcement; provides support to Municipal Police Departments in the state; aids in Public Safety Emergencies; and enforces laws regarding water resources, airports, beaches and parks and conservation.
The Division of Investigative Services does just what its name implies. Detective units investigate crimes and gather evidence, interview suspects and help the Attorney General and District Attorneys formulate cases against perpetrators.
Massachusetts' Division of Standards and Training provides education and training to uphold high standards for the entire Police Department. This division includes Certification, Internal Affairs, Harassment Investigation, Staff Inspections and Narcotics Inspection.
Finally, the Administrative Division provides daily support and resources to the Police Department in order to execute a high level of efficiency in all of its day-to-day duties. This division also handles police records for the state.
Requesting Massachusetts Police Records
In order to obtain your own criminal record for the state, a money order for $25 should be mailed to the CORI Unit in Chelsea, MA. You may also request a copy of someone else's criminal record if they were convicted of a felony for up to 10 years; were convicted of a misdemeanor for up to one year after disposition; are a currently an inmate or on parole; were convicted of a sex offense, manslaughter or murder. These records are only available to the public if they have not been sealed by a judge.