Table of Contents
- What are Connecticut Vital Records?
- Connecticut Birth Records
- Frequently Asked Questions About Connecticut Birth Records
- Connecticut Death Records
- Frequently Asked Questions About Connecticut Death Records
- Connecticut Marriage Records
- Frequently Asked Questions About Connecticut Marriage Records
- Connecticut Divorce Records
- Frequently Asked Questions About Connecticut Divorce Records
What are Connecticut Vital Records?
Vital records in Connecticut include births, deaths, marriages, and fetal deaths that occurred in the state from 1897 to the present. The Connecticut Department of Public Health (CDPH) State Office of Vital Records is the government agency which collects, maintains, stores, and issues copies of vital records. Each of Connecticut's 169 towns has a public health office that keeps records and can issue copies in person. The CDPH also handles adoption records, makes corrections to vital records, and handles the following other services for the state:
Connecticut Birth Records
Connecticut birth records document all live births that occur in the state. Connecticut has birth records dating back to 1897. Depending on the date of the birth, you can obtain copies in one of two ways. For any birth that occurred on or after January 1, 2003, you can request records from any vital records office or the State Vital Records Office. For births that occurred before 2003, you can get a certified copy from:
- The town vital records office of the town where the birth occurred, or
- The town of the mother's residence at the time of birth, or
- The State Vital Records Office.
Birth records in Connecticut are kept private for 100 years, and only certain individuals can obtain a copy of yours.
Frequently Asked Questions About Connecticut Birth Records
How do I find birth records in Connecticut?
Depending on the date of birth, you may contact either the local vital records office or the State Vital Records Office. Each town retains records for anyone born there.
How do I get a certified copy of my birth certificate in Connecticut?
How much does it cost to get a copy of a birth certificate in Connecticut?
Each certified copy of your birth certificate costs $30. You can request a full size and/or wallet-size and any number you want.
Who can request birth records?
Birth records in Connecticut are kept private for 100 years. Therefore, only certain people can request a copy of yours. That list includes:
- "You are the registrant, and you are at least 18 years old or an emancipated minor.
- You are the parent, legal guardian, grandparent, spouse, child, or grandchild over 18 years of age.
- You are an attorney-at-law representing an eligible party, approved state or federal agency, or a member of an incorporated genealogical society authorized to conduct business in the State of Connecticut (see the
- Connecticut State Library for more information)
- The birth record is at least 100 years old."
What birth records are available in Connecticut?
Connecticut has birth records going back to 1897. Each individual town keeps records, and there may be even older documents, but it is not guaranteed.
What information do I need when getting a copy of my Connecticut birth certificate?
When you request a certified copy of your birth record, you must supply the following items:
- Complete the application.
- Include your photo ID.
- Provide documentation proving that you are entitled to obtain the birth certificate (only applicable if the requester is not the birth registrant or a parent listed on the birth certificate).
- Include the applicable fee.
Where can I find historical vital records in Connecticut for genealogy research?
Connecticut's State Vital Records Office (a division of the Department of Public Health), is the agency that stores and issues copies of all birth records even historical ones.
How can I correct an error on my birth record?
A person eligible to get a copy of a birth record can also make a change or correction. You must fill out a form and pay the fee at your local town hall to correct an error on your birth record.
Can I get a refund if my Connecticut birth record is not available?
Birth certificate search fees are not refundable.
Connecticut Death Records
Death records are open to the general public; however, one with the deceased's social security number on it may only be supplied to the person's spouse or next of kin. The Connecticut Department of Health, State Vital Records Office is the agency in charge of death records. They provide them in person at local offices, through the State Vital Records Office, and online using the VitalChek system. They allow a one-time fee waiver for death certificates for veterans. When ordering, you must provide proper ID and proof of your relationship to the deceased and proof that they were a veteran.
Frequently Asked Questions About Connecticut Death Records
How do I find death records in Connecticut?
Any local vital records office can supply death records. You can also visit or mail in an application with the The Connecticut Department of Health, State Vital Records Office to get a copy.
Are death records public in Connecticut?
Yes. Death records are public records. However, the social security number for the deceased will be removed for anyone other than the next of kin.
How much does it cost to get a copy of a death certificate in Connecticut?
Death certificates cost $20 each. However, this fee may be waived for families of veterans.
How long does it take to get a copy of a Connecticut death record?
If you visit the local office, you can get one instantly. Otherwise, you may wait a few days to receive your copy in the mail.
Who can request death records?
Anyone can request death records. However, only the spouse of the deceased or another next of kin may get a copy of the deceased's social security number.
What information do I need when getting a copy of someone's Connecticut death certificate?
When you apply for a copy of a death certificate in Connecticut, you will need the following information:
- Make sure that you are eligible to obtain the death certificate.
- A completed application.
- Any applicable fees.
Where can I find historical death records in Connecticut?
Each of the 169 towns in Connecticut keeps copies of death records for events that occurred in the towns. You can also find historical death records at the The Connecticut Department of Health, State Vital Records Office.
How can I correct an error on someone's death record?
The process for correcting an error on someone's death records is quite easy. You must visit the town registrar where the event occurred to make a change. Only the next of kin, the informant, certifier, medical examiner, or funeral director named on the death certificate can make changes to a death certificate.
Can I get a refund if my Connecticut death record is not available?
No, all death certificate searches are non-refundable.
Connecticut Marriage Records
According to the Connecticut Department of Public Health's website, "Once you are married, the marriage license is filed at the vital records office of the town where the marriage occurred. After the document is filed, it is referred to as a marriage certificate." To obtain a certified copy of your marriage certificate, you can visit the "vital records office of the town where the marriage occurred, or the town(s) where the parties to the marriage resided at the time of the marriage, or the State Vital Records Office." As long as you are 18 years old, you can request a copy of anyone's marriage license or certificate. There are no other restrictions.
Frequently Asked Questions About Connecticut Marriage Records
Are Connecticut marriage records public?
Yes, and anyone 18 years or older can request a copy of anyone's marriage certificate.
What Connecticut marriage records are available?
Vital records in Connecticut date back to 1897 and each individual town keeps track of its own records, including marriage licenses and certificates.
How long does it take to get a marriage certificate in Connecticut?
If you visit your local town office, you can get one within a few minutes. If you contact the State Vital Records Office, you may have to wait a few days to get a copy.
How much does a Connecticut marriage certificate cost?
Each copy of a certified marriage certificate costs $20. There is no limit, and you can request additional copies at the same time.
When requesting records, what information do I need?
When you request a copy of a marriage certificate, you need to provide:
- The groom/spouse's name.
- The bride/spouse's name (including maiden name).
- The date of marriage.
- The town of marriage.
Records containing social security numbers will only be supplied to the bride and groom.
How do I get a copy of a Connecticut marriage record?
You can either visit your local town office where the marriage occurred or where you resided when you were married. Or, you can contact the State Vital Records Office or use the VitalChek system to order online.
What if I didn't get married in Connecticut?
If you did not get married in Connecticut, you must contact the state where you were married for information. Connecticut's State Vital Records Office handles only vital events that occurred in the state.
How do I correct a marriage certificate in Connecticut?
The Connecticut State Vital Records Office has a form, a fee, and a process for correcting marriage certificates.
Connecticut Divorce Records
The Connecticut Department of Public Health (CDPH) State Office of Vital Records does not handle divorce records. Instead, all divorce records are stored, maintained, and copies issued by the Connecticut Superior Court where the divorce was granted. Divorce decrees are handy when you need to change your name when you are getting re-married to prove you are divorced and also when applying for special licenses or insurance. According to the Connecticut Judicial Branch website, "A copy of a document filed in your divorce case can generally be obtained from the Judicial District Clerk's Office in the court location where the divorce took place. Your divorce decree is referred to as the "Judgment File." The Clerk's Office will need your case name and docket number (the number that was assigned to the case), and there are fees for copying and certifying. Judgment Files have a flat fee, other documents have a per-page copying fee with a certification fee, if needed."
Frequently Asked Questions About Connecticut Divorce Records
Can I find divorce records online in Connecticut?
Yes, but they must be obtained through the courts. They are open records, and the public can view them.
How do I find old divorce records?
Each individual courthouse in the county handles and stores old, historical divorce records. You must contact the court where the divorce occurred.
How do I get a copy of my divorce certificate?
Contact the Superior Court in the town or city where the divorce was granted. They have a form you must fill out, and you have to pay a fee for each copy.
How much does it cost for a certified copy of my divorce certificate?
Each certified copy of your "judgment file/divorce decree" costs $25 with the courts.
What information is needed to search for a Connecticut divorce record?
When requesting a copy of a divorce decree for yourself or someone else, you need basic information such as the full names of each party, the date of the marriage dissolution, and other pertinent details. Depending on the court, you may also require the case and docket number as well.
If they can't find my divorce record, can I get a refund?
No, all search fees are non-refundable.
What if my divorce took place outside of Connecticut?
If you were divorced in another state, contact their state offices to find out how to get a certified copy. Connecticut courts only deal with divorces within the state.